Home


After watching four episodes of Starz’s Boss this weekend I find all is not lost in dramatic series television on premium cable. But much is not found either.

While the first episode has a visual appeal that caresses the eye, this valiant cinematic device falls short as the episodes proceed. There are many other disquieting aspects to Boss that fail to entertain and at times, leaves one saddened as simple and cliched characters slip into stereotypes and caricatures.

I consider this series to be largely a white and male employment works project in a time of near recession and nothing more.

Was I glad I at least gave it a viewing? Given Mr. Grammer was responsible for two of my favorite series Girlfriends and The Game, absolutely. Will I peep in for episodes to come or next season? Perhaps. I’ll just play it by ear.

Seth Fine

Leave a Reply

